A native of Israel now living in the United States, composer Avner Dorman draws on a variety of cultural and historical influences in composing, resulting in music that affects an emotional impact while exploring new territories. His music utilizes an exciting and complex rhythmic vocabulary, as well as unique timbres and colors in orchestral, chamber, and solo settings. Many of his compositions have become contemporary staples in the repertoire.


Vadim Gluzman, violin
Ilya Shterenberg, clarinet
Mark Kosower, cello
William Wolfram, piano
Angela Yoffe, piano


Darius Milhaud
Suite for Violin, Clarinet and Piano

Maurice Ravel
Two Hebrew Melodies, for Cello and Piano

George Gershwin
Three Preludes, for Clarinet and Piano

Ernest Bloch
“Baal Shem” Suite (Three Pictures of Chassidic Life)

Avner Dorman
Dancing at Mount Meron, for Piano, Violin, Clarinet and Cello World Première Performance*

* Commissioned for the North Shore Chamber Music Festival by Joseph and Minna Pirogovsky

Thank you!

This concert has been sponsored in part by the Consulate General of Israel to the Midwest.